Maine Hockey Journal

Bowdoin hockey garners several awards

Cody Todesco, Mitch Barrington and Ari Bourque were recognized for their season in ice hockey Tuesday afternoon as the New England Small College Athletic Conference handed out its end of year awards.

Todesco, who just wrapped up his freshman season with the Polar Bears, was selected Co-Rookie of the Year by NESCAC coaches, sharing the award with Williams goaltender Michael Pinios.

Todesco is the first Bowdoin rookie to lead the Polar Bears in scoring since 2000 after recording 12 goals, including three game-winners, and 12 assists for 24 points. His point and goal totals are both tied for fourth among all NESCAC players. Todesco is the fifth Bowdoin player to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year and the first since John McGinnis in 2012.

Barrington earned First Team honors, his first career conference selection.

Barrington was tied for second on the team with 11 assists and fifth with 14 points. The defender scored two of his three goals this season on the power play. Barrington played more minutes on the ice for Bowdoin than any other skater this season.

Bourque was named First Team All-NESCAC in Women’s hockey by the league on Tuesday.

It is the first all-conference award for Bourque, who is Bowdoin’s lone recipient this season and the program’s first First Team All-NESCAC selection since 2013.

Bourque, who is a senior, was second on the team in scoring this winter, totaling nine goals and 11 assists. She scored a pair of game-winning goals on the year and eight of her nine goals came against NESCAC opponents. In 103 career games, Bourque finishes with 32 goals and 46 assists.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login